Meet the cast – Nicholas Farr

Nick Farr Headshots
1)What is your full name, and who do you play?
Nicholas Farr, and I play Troilus in “Troilus and Cressida”, and Commander A/Senator 1/Citizen 1 in “Coriolanus”. 

2) What was your first experience of theatre?
The first experience theatre experience that I can remember was seeing Postman Pat the musical.

3) Who is your biggest theatrical hero?
William Shakespeare, as he wrote so many amazing plays, with characters and themes still 100% truthful and resonant today.

4) What are you most looking forward to in the process and performance of Troilus & Cressida and Coriolanus?
In the process, discovering the two plays and it’s characters, both of which I wasn’t hugely familiar with before. In the performance, bringing the two worlds and it’s inhabitants to life for the audience, and maybe subverting some peoples opinions and views on the plays.

5) What was the best piece of theatre you have seen this year?
“The Crucible”, by Arthur Miller, at The Old Vic. I loved the physicality, the sound design, and the top notch performances.

6) What Shakespearian role would you most like to play next?
Prince Hal/Henry V in the Henriad. I’d love to explore his journey from boy to man, prince to king, his relationship with Falstaff, and because I think Henry V is a phenomenal play, with some of the Bard’s best lines.

7) Who would you say is the biggest influence in your life?
My Mum. She’s always been supportive of me, both artistically and financially. She’s someone I can always turn to for advice, and she has good judgement. She encouraged my creativity from an early age, and I think I get most of that part of me from her side of the family. She’s one of the two main people that I worry about impressing with each production I’m in.

8) If you had to be a cake, what cake would you be and why?
A New York cheesecake, because I’m a bit cheesy, I can be smooth like the topping, I like biscuits, and I’d encourage you to “start spreading the news…” about Lazarus’s “Our World At War”!

9) If you wanted one thing for an audience to get out of Our World at War rep what would it be and why?
To identify/empathise/sympathise with at least one character in each play, and to question whether they would’ve acted in the same way had they been in their shoes.

10) We are playing with the idea of both plays are games, what’s your favourite board game and why?
Cluedo. It feeds into acting as you get to play a character (although I always have to be Colonel Mustard!), I like a good murder mystery/whodunnit, and it gives you good inspiration for if you ever wanted to commit a murder…in a country house.
 

Cluedo

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet the Cast

Leave a Reply

