Meet the cast – Charlotte Mafham

455998

1)    What is your full name, and who do you play?
Charlotte Mafham – I play Cassandra (in T+C) and Virgilia (in Coriolanus)

 2)    What was your fist experience of theatre?
I remember going to see my big brother perform and having a nap under the seat with my teddy bear, but I was only 5!

 3)    Who is your biggest theatrical hero?
I’m a big fan of strong female performers so Fiona Shaw, Harriet Walter and Juliet Stevenson are all up there!
 
4)    What are you most looking forward to in the process and performance of Troilus & Cressida and Coriolanus?
I’ve loved all the physical and group work we do to really gel as a company and I hope it shows in our performances how much we listen and respond as an ensemble. 
 
5)    What was the best piece of theatre you have seen this year?
The Young Vic is having another triumphant year. Both Happy Days and A View from the Bridge were sensational.
 
6)    What Shakespearian role would you most like to play next?
Lady Macbeth is perhaps an obvious one but I’d love to get into the mind of a ‘villain’ – to discover what drives their actions – so Iago, Edmund and Tamora are all on the list too!
 
7)    Who would you say is the biggest influence in your life?
My wonderful Mum. She’s unswervingly supportive, smart and fun; she’s my best mate. 
 
8)    If you had to be a cake, what cake would you be and why?
Red velvet. Might look fiery but essentially just soft!
 
9)    If you wanted one thing for an audience to get out of Our World at War rep what would it be and why?
That Shakespeare can be fun! Even if it’s a tragedy, people should enjoy being caught up in the drama. The language shouldn’t be a barrier to experiencing the story – it’s our job to make it accessible – so I definitely hope we achieve that.
 
10)  We are playing with the idea of both plays are games, what’s your favourite board game and why?
Ooh I’m torn between chess and Monopoly – they’re both epic and can last for days!
world-chess-setmonopoly1
Leave a comment

Filed under Meet the Cast, Theatre

Leave a Reply

