60 Seconds with the cast – Sophie Tanza Quinn

895455
Give us your full name and the character you are playing.
Sophie Tanza Quinn and I’m playing Captain Gower.
 
Where in the UK are you from?
I’m from Dublin originally but I’ve been living in North London for 6 years.  
 
What was your first theatrical experience, either on stage or in the auditorium?
The first show I ever did was in school with the local boys school and mixture of the lion king and the jungle book – The Jungle Thing. It was in a huge tent and we had a waterfall!
 
What was your first experience of Shakespeare?
In college I played Olivia in Twelfth Knight in a short scene study, but actually this production marks my first full experience of Shakespeare and I’m loving the onslaught of information and detail that goes with it.
 
What was your first experience of King Henry V?
I remember watching Kenneth Branagh in Henry V when I was about 15 or 16 and thinking it was a very energetic and passionate performance.
 
What was your first thought when you heard about an all-female King Henry V?
I thought…I want in on that! I was so eager I turned up a day early for the audition…
 
Tell us the title of your favourite play.
Little Gem by Elaine Murphy is a hilarious play about 3 generations of Irish women and the difficulties they go through on a daily basis.
 
Who is your theatrical inspiration?
Imelda Staunton. I’ve seen her in quite a few productions but she was perfect in Sweeney Todd as Mrs Lovett.
 
If you had to choose, who is your favourite female actor / actress?
At the moment I love Olivia Colman. It started when I saw Broadchurch and then I had to go back and watch Peep Show and Green Wing. I think her performance justifies a viewing alone in everything she’s been in so far. Have you seen Run? Watch it!
 
In King Henry V, the French Dauphin sends Harry tennis balls, what’s your favourite ball game? 
Netball. Love it. I played all the way up in school and for the Irish team! WA.
Leave a comment

Filed under Meet the Cast, Theatre

Leave a Reply

