Meet the cast – Jon Tozzi

1003380

Give us your full name and the character you are playing.
My name is Jon Tozzi. I will be playing Simon and the Singer
Where in the UK are you from?
I am from North London.
What was your first theatrical experience, either on stage or in the auditorium?
My first experience of performing was in a production of ‘Shelter’ by Simon Bent when I was 11 years old. The play itself holds a lot of nostalgia for me.
What was your first experience of Brecht?
I encountered Brecht at school when studying GCSE drama. It’s not until having embarked on this process that you realise how at school you only scratch the surface  of what is an incredibly complex playwright.
What was your first experience of The Caucasian Chalk Circle?
This production! I had heard of the play in passing. It wasn’t until I auditioned and read the play fully that I first experienced the play.
What was your first thought when you heard about a production of The Caucasian Chalk Circle?
My first thought was, ‘how the hell is this production going to be done?’ There are so many paths and interpretations you can take when performing a Brechtian piece.
Tell us the title of your favourite play.
‘Bull’ by Mike Bartlett and ‘The Effect’ by Lucy Prebble. I’m sorry, I cannot choose just the one.
Who is your theatrical inspiration?
It may sound obvious, but it has to be the bard himself, William Shakespeare. If it wasn’t for his plays I wouldn’t have got into performing in the first place. I connect with all of his work. I love watching different companies productions of his plays. Not many playwrights are as accessible as him. That’s a true testament.
If you had to choose, who is your favourite actor?
 
Ooooo, you aren’t making this an easy 60 seconds! I admire too many actors to pin point one. However, I will say that Ryan Gosling’s performance in ‘Blue Valentine’ renders me speechless. He makes it seem too easy! A fearless actor.
What’s your favourite party game? 
The simple yet highly entertaining…eating a dohnut without licking your lips! It’s an absolute winner in my eyes.
Want to know more about what’s happening in the rehearsal room, take a look at our blog.
23rd February – 12th March , 2016
Leave a comment

Filed under Meet the Cast, Theatre

Leave a Reply

