Meet the Cast – Grace Cheatle

Grace-Cheatle

Give us your full name and the character you are playing.
Grace Cheatle, playing Governor’s wife, Mother-in-law, and Lodovica
Where in the UK are you from?
Solihull, which is in the West Midlands
What was your first theatrical experience, either on stage or in the auditorium?
My earliest memory is playing a star in the school nativity. I must have been about five years old. I just vividly remember having a wardrobe malfunction as my cardboard star fell off my head half-way though the show.
What was your first experience of Brecht?
It was whilst I was at school. We used to have a group come in and perform things in a Brechtian style which was really fun. Until I tried to do a Brecht play and A-level and realised it was a lot harder than they made it seem. So a love-hate relationship with Bertolt began there really.
What was your first experience of The Caucasian Chalk Circle?
I thought it was absolutely bonkers. Pretty much everyone in it is as mad as a box of frogs, and it was pretty daunting to try and get a hold of when I first read it.
What was your first thought when you heard about a production of The Caucasian Chalk Circle?
This is going to be insane.
Tell us the title of your favourite play.
‘The Glass Menagerie’ by Tennessee Williams
Who is your theatrical inspiration?
That’s really tough! I see a lot of fringe theatre, and so many of the new companies you see there are really inspiring – creating very different, exciting work. I think I’d say I was inspired by a lot of things, all the time. The cast of this production inspire me every day – which has made the rehearsal process pretty amazing.
If you had to choose, who is your favourite actor?
Anne Hathaway – I’ve been besotted with her since The Princess Diaries
What’s your favourite party game? 
I always liked pass the parcel. Though that seems to be appearing at fewer and fewer parties I attend.
Want to know more about what’s happening in the rehearsal room, take a look at our blog.
23rd February – 12th March , 2016
Leave a comment

Filed under Meet the Cast, Theatre

Leave a Reply

