Meet the Cast – Shalana Serafina

sahalana-serafina

1)    What’s your name and where do you come from?
Shalana Serafina and I am a born and bred Somerset country bumpkin, now living in London.

2)    Who do you play?
I’m playing the role of alcohol ‘appreciating’, business woman,  Mrs Trapes.

3)    What were your first impressions of the project?
I loved the fact that we were highlighting current issues within society today, through a comical, light hearted, musical medium, whilst still using Gay’s original text and concept.

4)    What has been the highlight of the project so far?
Being surrounded by such a talented team! I am learning from my fellow cast members each day, but I really take my hat off to our production team, they are all working so hard to make every detail of the production perfect.

5)    What’s the most challenging part of the process?
Really delving into the text to understand Gay’s use of language during the 1700’s.

6)    What are you most looking forward to in the remainder of the project?
I’m very excited to explore Mrs Trapes further this week… I’m also intrigued to see how many more ways we can use an umbrella during this production.

7)    Who is your biggest inspiration?
Forrest McClendon is one of the most inspirational people I have ever met, (he played Mr Tambo in The Scottsboro Boys) he came to our drama school to talk to us about the industry when I was in my final year. His passionate approach to life and work is something that I will never forget.

8)    What is your favourite musical of all time?
This is the million dollar question!!

As a young girl I would watch Annie on repeat, I even had a toy dog called sandy, so I guess I’d have to say Annie.

9)    If you could play any role in a musical, (other than the one you are playing in The Beggar’s Opera) what would it be and why?
Scaramouche in ‘We Will Rock You’, she’s feisty, fierce and has no intention to blend in with the crowd… and who doesn’t love Queen!

10) The Beggar’s Opera is all about chancers and opportunity, a ‘Live-for-today’ kind of attitude, if you could give one piece of advice to your younger self or to anyone else what would it be?
If you’re told that you can’t or won’t achieve something, use those words to make you stronger. Use those words to prove people wrong. Use those words to inspire the people that DO believe in you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Images of inspiration, Theatre

Leave a Reply

