Meet the Cast – Charlotte Dowding

Charlotte Dowding

Give us your full name and the character you are playing.
I’m Charlotte Dowding and I’m playing the part of Katharina

Where in the UK are you from?
I was born in England, but I’m also part Jamaican, so England and Jamaica.

What was your first theatrical experience, either on stage or in the auditorium?
I guess it was playing the donkey in the nativity in nursery and reception, but if we are talking a full scale production then when I was in year 8 we did Oliver where I was an ophan/in Fagin’s gang and I absolutely loved it!

What was your first experience of Shakespeare?
Macbeth! – another school production which we also studied in English, performing the play definitely helped me with that!

What’s the event in the play that you’re most excited about discovering?
The ending for sure! Katharina says a very controversial speech so I’m excited to discover how it will play out.

Who’s your favourite character, other than your own?
Definitely Grumio because he’s funny and cheeky.

Tell us the title of your favourite play.
It’s a tough one but I’ll have to say Bitch Boxer by Charlotte Josephine.

Who is your theatrical inspiration?
Well after seeing People, places and things, and Angels in America I’d have to say Denise Gough, the way she commands the stage and takes on those difficult characters is incredible to watch

If you had to choose, who is your favourite actor?
There are so many but I do love Johnny Depp, I think the diversity of his characters have been amazing and I would love to be as versatile as him.

What’s your favourite festival experience?
Although I’ve been to loads of gig I haven’t actually been to a festival before, but it would definitely be all the dancing I’d do!

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet the Cast, Rehearsals, Theatre

Leave a Reply

