Meet the Cast – Rachel Smart

Rachel Smart

Give us your full name and the character you are playing.
Rachel Igrainne Smart playing Grumio and Biondello

Where in the world are you from?
 England- South London.

What was your first theatrical experience, either on stage or in the auditorium?
I played the Violet fairy in pre-school, which lured me into a false sense of security that I would play an angel when the nativity came around… alas I was the only girl to be cast as a Shepard. Now I love cross-gender casting!

What was your first experience of Shakespeare?
I Played Juliet in year 7 and from then on, I was hooked on Shakespeare… and boys! (My Romeo was a real looker)

What’s the event in the play that you’re most excited about discovering?
Kate’s ‘Turning point’. I’m excited to see how Sara, Charlotte and the rest of the cast explore when/how/why Kate’s attitude to Petruchio changes. I think we are all fascinated by Kate’s motivations in relation to bending to Petruchio’s will, and this will be particularly interesting since we are setting the show in the present day.

Who’s your favourite character, other than your own?
Kate!

Tell us the title of your favourite play.
The Glass Menagerie.

Who is your theatrical inspiration?
David Tennant – He brings an abundance of thoughtfulness, play and dynamism to the stage. I’m also inspired by Phoebe Waller-Bridge and all her work with Dry Write.

If you had to choose, who is your favourite actor?
Pippa Haywood – She is so funny in Green Wing, and can also depict real vulnerability and strength on screen.

What’s your favourite festival experience?
I’ve only been to one festival, Latitude, when I performed there last summer. I had an amazing time, and camping with my best friend in the sauna that was our tiny tent, is one of my favourite memories. That and our Egeus tripping over a tent string and falling over in slow motion!

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet the Cast, Rehearsals, Theatre

Leave a Reply

