Meet the Cast – Bethan Maddocks

BEST BETHAN MADDOCKS-3103

1. What’s your name and where do you come from?
Bethan, from Cardiff.

2. Who are you playing in Hedda Gabler?
Thea.

3. What’s your favourite play?
Table by Tanya Ronda.

4. If you could play any role in any play who would you play and why?
King Lear – Aside from the excitement of being able to explore such a complex emotional journey, I would love to see how the character’s behaviour and choices throughout the play leading up to his penultimate breakdown would feel as a female actor, and how an audience would receive it in this way.

5. What are you most excited about discovering in this new production of Hedda Gabler?
A way to turn the predictable qualities of each character on its head and portray them in a way we haven’t seen before; finding a whole new way to explore the piece without losing the traditional essence of the play.

6. What was your first ever theatrical experience?
Cats in London when I was 3 (I was ill, took all my clothes off and invited everyone to my birthday party) but I still remember the magic of the cats coming up to me and thinking, ‘I want to have an affect on people like that one day!’.

7. Who is your inspiration?
Viola Davis for her fearlessness in her performances and Maggie Smith…because she is simply hands down wonderful in every way.

8. What’s the best thing about being an actor?
Never knowing where I’ll be or what to expect from each day. I’m very lucky!

9. What did you see the last time you went to the theatre?
RSC’s Kunene and The King – awe inspiring.

10. If you were going to destroy Lovborg’s manuscript how would you do it?
Burn it on the barbecue, using his hair gel as fuel lighter.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet the Cast, Rehearsals, Theatre

Leave a comment