Meet the Cast – Edward Crook

Edward Crook

1. What’s your name and where do you come from?
My name’s Edd, and I’m originally from Nottingham.

2. Who are you playing in Hedda Gabler?
Judge Brack.

3. What’s your favourite play?
My favourite play that I’ve read is ‘Our Boys’ by Jonathan Lewis, but my favourite play I saw was ‘1984’ by Duncan Macmillan and Robert Icke. It’s the play that made me think ‘I want to be an actor’.

4. If you could play any role in any play who would you play and why?
Probably Hamlet. It’s such an incredible role and would be a huge challenge for a number of reasons, but it’s always really appealed to me. I think the play is timeless, and it touches on some really important issues.

5. What are you most excited about discovering in this new production of Hedda Gabler?
It’s such a brilliant play, and I’m looking forward to seeing how this version works in a modern setting.

6. What was your first ever theatrical experience?
I think it’s when I saw Fireman Sam in Panto when I was a kid, but the first play I was in was Bugsy Malone at school. I had the tiniest role, but that’s where my love for theatre started.

7. Who is your inspiration?
River Phoenix inspired me to become an actor when I was younger, but I recently saw Ian McKellen on stage at the Nottingham Playhouse. He was so captivating and looked like he was having the best time. I think if I can have even a fraction of the longevity and variety that his career has done I’d consider myself very lucky.

8. What’s the best thing about being an actor?
It’s so much fun! There’s a lot of rejection and hardship, but the positives definitely outweigh the negatives. I love the rehearsal process and working on the piece with the company, and I’ve always craved the adrenaline rush of the live shows.

9. What did you see the last time you went to the theatre?
I saw ‘An Enemy Of The People’, directed by Adam Penford (and also written by Ibsen!)

10. If you were going to destroy Lovborg’s manuscript how would you do it?
Feed it to my dog. He eats anything and knows how to keep a secret.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet the Cast, Rehearsals, Theatre

Leave a comment